## Sustainable CT Welcomes Five New Members to its Boards of Directors



JANUARY 8, 2024 - A new year brings new faces to our prestigious **Board of Directors** (pictured above, left to right): Dave Dickson, director of the University of Connecticut Center for Land Use Education and Research; Matthew Fulda, executive director of the Connecticut Metropolitan Council of Governments; Joshua Kelly, CEO of the Thames Valley Council for Community Action; Abby Piersall, town planner for the Town of Clinton; and Michael Purcaro, town administrator for the Town of Vernon.

They join an illustrious group that includes: Danielle Chesebrough, first selectwoman for the Town of Stonington; Nicole Chevalier of West Haven; Camille Fontinella, director of the Office of Innovative Partnerships and Planning in the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection; Laura Francis, deputy director and director of transportation and planning at the South Central Regional Council of Governments; Bryan Garcia, president and CEO of Connecticut Green Bank; Sean Ghio, policy director for the Partnership for Strong Communities; Sheila McKay, senior staff associate for government relations with the Connecticut Association of Boards of Education; Richard Porth, special projects coordinator for the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities; Dave Smith, vice president for global environment, health and safety at Stanley Black & Decker; Latha Swamy, director of food system policy for the City of New Haven; and our own Lynn Stoddard, director of Sustainable CT.

Our sincere thanks and appreciation go out to the departing members of our Board for their faithful service and wise counsel: Pete Bass, mayor of the Town of New Milford; Hamsa Ganapathi of Milford; Sam Gold, director of the Lower Connecticut River Council of Governments; Laura Hoydick, mayor of the City of Stratford; Courtney Lindberg, former deputy

director of public works of Manchester (served on the Board until June 2023); Calvin Price of Madison; and Ted Shafer, director of economic development for the Towns of Winchester and Barkhamsted. We know they will continue to play a vital role in Sustainable CT's mission.

Our Board of Directors represents a wealth of experience, diversity, and knowledge. As a group, they contribute their time, expertise, and passion to promote sustainability and positive change in Connecticut communities. Their commitment to fostering environmental stewardship, social equity, and economic vitality reflects their understanding of the interconnected nature of sustainability. They provide



Lynn Stoddard with former Board members Ted Shafer (I) and Sam Gold (r)

indispensable vision, guidance, and governance to Sustainable CT, and through their leadership, the Board plays a crucial role in inspiring communities across Connecticut to embrace sustainable practices, creating a lasting impact for current and future generations.

###