Certification Overview


2018 Bronze Certification Requirements

Complete at least 1 action in each of the 9 categories. 

Successfully complete actions totaling 200 or more points.


2018 Silver Certification Requirements

Complete at least 1 action in each of the 9 categories.

Successfully complete actions totaling 400 or more points.


Note: Actions, points, and certification point thresholds are for 2018 and may change for future certification cycles.

Certification of your Municipality

  • Register your community for Sustainable CT. 
  • After you register your community, begin work on Sustainable CT actions, and apply for certification in any year your municipality is ready. Application for certification is rolling, and early submission is encouraged. Certification lasts for 3 years.
  • You must complete one action from each of the nine action categories to receive either Bronze or Silver certification. Many Sustainable CT actions have variable points, which means there are several ways to complete the action. All you need to do is achieve one of the designated point levels listed for that action to consider it complete. Of course, the more you do, the more points you earn.

  • Key dates for the 2018 certificate cycle are below. Along the way, contact for assistance with completing actions and applying for certification.

    • May 1, 2018: To receive feedback on your pre-application, you may submit completed actions anytime before May 1. The pre-application process is optional.

    • September 7, 2018: Final application submission deadline for 2018 certification.

    • October 26, 2018: Final decisions on certification levels.

    • November 2018: Awards ceremony at the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities Annual Convention.