The People Behind Sustainable CT

Sustainable CT was created by towns, for towns as a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Municipal leaders and residents from across the state, the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities and people from key agencies, non-profits and businesses partnered to develop the program during 2016 and 2017. The Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University led and coordinated program development, with generous support from the Emily Hall Tremaine Foundation, Hampshire Foundation, and Common Sense Fund.

Check out this short video on Sustainable CT. Learn about the story behind the Sustainable CT logo. You can also listen to what people have to say about Sustainable CT around the State.



Stay up-to-date with the latest and greatest Sustainable CT news by reading our monthly newsletter and by tuning into The IMPACT: a Sustainable CT Podcast.

Advisory Committee

During 2017, the Advisory Committee, listed below, guided program development and developed a long-term governance structure for Sustainable CT.


Ted Shafer, Chair

First Selectman

Town of Burlington

Laura Francis, Vice Chair

First Selectwoman

Town of Durham

Carl Amento

Executive Director

South Central Regional Council of Governments

David Fink


Partnership for Strong Communities

Bryan Garcia

President and CEO

CT Green Bank

Emily Gordon

Project Associate

Stamford 2030, Connecticut Fund for the Environment, The Business Council of Fairfield County

Donna Hamzy

Advocacy Manager

Connecticut Conference of Municipalities

Scott Jackson


CT Department of Labor

John Kibbee


CT Commercial and Industrial Energy Efficiency, Eversource Energy

Rob Klee


CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Kurt Miller

First Selectman

Town of Seymour

Kristina Newman-Scott

Director of Culture

CT Department of Economic and Community Development

Christine Schilke

Communications Director

CT Main Street Center

Christina Smith

Executive Director

Groundwork Bridgeport

Lynn Stoddard


Institute for Sustainable Energy, Eastern Connecticut State University


Working Groups

All of Connecticut’s 169 towns and cities participated in Sustainable CT’s development, represented directly by a municipal official, staff person, local volunteer, or by a regional entity representing member municipalities. Working groups met from February to June 2017 to develop the menu of actions, though our categories and framing continue to evolve. We are grateful for the more than 180 dedicated members of the nine working groups.

Working group members are available in PDF format and are available for download.

Working Group Members
– Clean and diverse transportation systems and choices.
– Efficient physical infrastructure and operations.
– Strategic and inclusive public services.
– Dynamic and resilient planning.
– Well-stewarded land and natural resources.
– Thriving local economies with benefits for all.
– Healthy, efficient, diverse and affordable housing.

– Vibrant and creative cultural ecosystems.

– Inclusive and equitable community impacts.

CCM Task Force on Sustainability

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities Task Force on Sustainability created the vision for Sustainable CT in early 2016.

Betsy Paterson, ChairFormer MayorMansfield
Ed BomanAssistant Director of Public WorksFairfield
Sara BroninChair, Planning and ZoningHartford
Dan DrewMayorMiddletown
Laura FrancisFirst SelectwomanDurham
Matthew HartTown ManagerMansfield
Jim HaydenFirst SelectmanEast Granby
Deb HincheyMayorNorwich
Thomas MaddenDirector of Econ DevelopmentStamford
Kurt MillerFirst SelectmanSeymour
Nacy NickersonTown Council ChairFarmington
Steve NoceraDirector of Project ExcellenceDanbury
Lisa Pellegrini First SelectwomanSomers
Ted ShaferFirst SelectmanBurlington
Don SteinFirst SelectmanBarkhamsted